Loading Map....

Date(s) - 12/04/2014 - 12/12/2014


Categories No Categories

In December 2014, Dr. Sylvia Earle and the Mission Blue expedition team established six Hope Spots along the coast of South Africa in partnership with the Sustainable Seas Trust: False Bay (from Cape Point to Cape Agulhas); Cape Whale Coast (from Rooi Els to Quoin Point including offshore islands); Knysna (including the Knysna Estuary, marine coast and offshore waters), Plett (linking the Robberg marine protected area (MPA) to Tsitsikamma MPA), Algoa Bay and the islands (a sanctuary area hosting the principal breeding colonies of the African penguin) and Aliwal Shoal in KwaZulu-Natal. In total these areas cover a notable amount of the South African coast and serve as a launch pad for further ocean conservation in the region.

Read More:

We've Updated Our Privacy Policy

Read our new privacy policy here.